Apple Pandowdy

Apples, apples, apples…. I was thinking what to make with the fruit in season. Then happily, the right recipes reached me from a Postcrosser in Canada. This time I sent a postcard first with the address of this blog hoping to swap recipes with the recipient of the card, who suggests the trade on her Postcrossing profile. Generously enough, she gave me two: Apple Pandowdy and Apple Crisp.

What is a Pandowdy, by the way??? As usual, checked with Wiki and found that it is a Canadian Maritimes and New England variety of Cobbler as well as ‘Grunt’ and ‘Slump’ (both also unfamiliar to me!). I love apple crumble and had wanted to bake cobbler, so I chose it as the third try (for 2nd try, pls read Adobong Manok). I followed exactly the recipe:

Ingredients

1 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup water
2 tbsp butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp lemon juice
4 cups washed, peeled cored, and sliced tart apples
1 cup flour
1 tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3 tbsp shortening (trans free palm shortening)
1 beaten egg
1/3 cup milk

(* Canadian measurement: 1 cup = 250 cc/ml)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 375F/180C.
  2. Blend together first 4 ingredients in a saucepan.
  3. Stir in water. Cook over medium heat until mixture comes to a boil and has thickened slightly (8 to 10 mins).
  4. Stir in butter, vanilla and lemon juice. Set aside.
  5. Arrange the apples in a greased 9 inch square baking pan that is 2 inches deep. Pour the sauce over apples.
  6. To make the sweet biscuit dough for the topping blend the 1 cup flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Cut the shortening in finely.
  7. Add egg and milk. Stir with a fork to make a drop batter.
  8. Drop by spoonfuls over top of the apple mixture. Do not  stir.
  9. Bake for 35 to 45 mins.

Hmmm… Should I have used a pan instead of a plate as the name, Pandowdy indicates? And also, I should have made the drop batters smaller?

Anyway, as you can easily imagine, it’s so good! with the delicious sauce and the crispy topping – I like the scone/biscuit dipped in the syrup. What is better, less fat and much healthier than my apple crumble! but how could I have resisted spooing some vanilla ice cream on??? 😀  Seems better to eat when it gets a little bit cool so that you can fully enjoy the taste of the apple and the sauce.

The pandowdy recipe is from a cookbook that the Postcrosser wrote for a fund raising event, and  there is a line at the bottom of the page:

We can’t always build the future for our youth, but we can build our youth for the future.

It reminded me of the saying, ‘We are what we ate.’ I cook myself but I appreciate the people who have cooked for me, esp. my mum who fed me and make dishes I love whenever I go back to my parents’ place.

maple buiscuits 1 (sig)

Thank you so much for the apple recipes, dear Postcrossing friend in Canada! I will try the crisp as well.

2 thoughts on “Apple Pandowdy

  1. I am so glad you enjoyed my apple recipe—and you made it look exactly as it should–great job !!
    Another Canadian addition would be to drizzle a bit of Maple Syrup on top–yummy !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

