Stollen Teabread

Just wanted to bake something for the upcoming Christmas. Stollen was one of the options, but I usually buy some loaves of ‘NICE’ stollen from my favourite bakery. Hmmmm…. One day, a friend of mine gave me  a piece of Starbucks’s Stollen Cake, which was really good! so I decided to make something similar.

Starbucks's Stollen Cake
Starbucks’s Stollen Cake

Ingredients

150 – 200 cc dark rum
50 g dried figs
50 g raisins
50 g dried cranberries
30 g candied orange peel
30 g candied lemon peel

dried fruit soaked in rum

200 g plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground mixed spice
100 g butter
85 g soft light brown sugar
100 g marzipan, cut into cubes
25 g flaked almonds, lightly toasted
2 eggs

To decorate:
25 g butter, melted
20 g icing sugar
dried or glacé cherries
holly springs, washed and dried

stollen teabread

Method

  1. Soak the figs, raisins, cranberries, orange and lemon in the dark rum overnight. Drain the fruits, and chop roughly the peels and figs.
  2. Preheat oven to 180 C.
  3. Tip the flour and baking powder into a bowl, and using fingertips, rub the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. Stir in the sugar, mixed spice, almond flakes and marzipan.
  4. In another bowl, whisk the eggs and put in the soaked fruits. Stir into the flour mixture and combine well.
  5. Spoon the dough into a lined loaf tin/dish and bake for 60 mins until well risen and golden brown, or a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  6. Remove from the oven. Brush with a half of the melted butter and dust with a half of the icing sugar.
  7. Allow it to cool for 10 mins, then remove from the dish and place it on to a wire rack. And again, brush the rest of butter and sift the icing sugar over the loaf. Cool completely.
  8. Decorate with the cherries and holy springs. If necessary, dust with icing sugar a little more before the decoration.

Hmmmmm… looks like a Christmas fruit loaf rather than a stollen cake…, but it does taste like stollen, and soooo good – even better? 😀 – with the flavour of rum, mixed spices, and chunks of marzipan. I found that, after it sits for a few days, it ripens and tastes better – it gets richer, more moist, and more flavourful. Do try this for the coming festivities!

stollen teabread loaf

8 thoughts on “Stollen Teabread

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by and liking my posts!
      Wow, am so glad and flattered that you have visited my blog! – even commented! – cos your blog have attracted me since before I started one myself. Please allow me to reblog or tag with your Käsekuchen one day – I have been trying to make a good one without quark! Actually I made it with the cheese while in Germany, and it turned out to be really yummy!!

      Like

      1. Oh, it’s so sweet of you! Now it’s my turn to say-I’m flattered by your words; it really means a lot to me! 🙂 I miss comments sometimes.. sorry that I’ve checked it a bit late. I push “allowed” but I haven’t seen your post…
        I love that German cheesecake too, may be because I love cottage cheese fillings in pies/cakes; plus tvorog (Russian cottage cheese) is a very popular and healthy thing in my home-country. 🙂
        Happy cooking!
        Mila

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I understand you have too many followers to reply to all, so no worries! 🙂
        Yes, I once reblogged your kasekuchen. I wanted to save it as a draft until my experiment (substituting something for quark) completes but it was published as soon as approved. So I released it – terribly sorry!! cottage cheese might work? Seems I need some more experiments to ask you for another approval….
        Looking forward to your posts and very best wishing you the very best for 2016!

        Rotwein

        Like

      3. Just repost whenever you want:) you know, quark that I used was very soft and more like thick yogurt or cream cheese not like cottage cheese/tvorog.. There are diff.quarks with different % of fat, but I don’t remember how fatty was mine..
        Have a delicious and happy holidays too!😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

